Move to Amend Reports on Cooperation Jackson’s Struggle for Economic Democracy in Mississippi

October 20, 2016

Move to Amend Reports connects you with activists and organizers working on the frontlines of the democracy movement, to bring you the lowdown on corporate rule, corporate personhood, and money as speech.

TUNE IN EVERY WEEK!  Click here to listen to this week's show!

Podcasts are released every Thursday at 7am Pacific / 10am Eastern.

Get weekly reminder about shows so you never forget to tune in -- sign up here!

Mississippi gets some deservedly bad press. The plethora of far-right Koch-sponsored bills that swept through its legislature is the stuff of nightmares. But some good folks in Jackson are having none of it. Cooperation Jackson is an emerging vehicle for sustainable community development, economic democracy, and community ownership.  Join us for a conversation about their struggle for economic democracy and countering the 'Confederate Spring' with Brandon King.

Brandon King is the founder and organizing coordinator of Cooperation Jackson, an emerging network of worker cooperative and supporting institutions fighting to create economic democracy by creating a vibrant solidarity economy in Jackson, Mississippi, to help transform Mississippi and the South.  Brandon also serves as the anchor for Freedom Farms Cooperative, a farming cooperative aimed at providing healthy, naturally grown produce within a community that traditionally doesn't have access. He also currently serves as a representative to the National Black Food Justice Alliance, the OUR Power Campaign's Climate Justice Alliance, and sits on the board of the Southern Grassroots Economies Project (SGEP) and Southern Reparation Loan Fund (SLRF). He was born in Portsmouth, VA, holds a Bachelors of Arts degree in Sociology with an international emphasis from Hampton University, and currently lives in Jackson, Mississippi.

Move to Amend Reports is hosted by Laura Bonham and Egberto Willies, members of Move to Amend's National Leadership Team. Executive producer is Keyan Bliss. Production team is Kaitlin Sopoci-Belknap, Keyan Bliss, Laura Bonham, Egberto Willies and Renee Babcock.