Move to Amend Reports Features Cecily McMillan This Week

September 8, 2014

Move to Amend brings you voices from the movement to amend the Constitution through our internet radio program. Every Thursday at 5pm Pacific/8pm Eastern. This is a call-in program. Call (646) 652-2345 and press 1 to participate.

This week we talk about the issue of prisoner rights with Cecily McMillan, as she shares her own experience through the criminal justice system following her wrongful arrest during the Occupy Wall Street movement. 

Cecily McMillan is a 25-year-old graduate student at the New School, union organizer, and Occupy Wall Street activist who was convicted of allegedly assaulting a police officer on March 17, 2012. After two years of censoring evidence and hand-selecting jurors, the prosecution was blatantly favored with overwhelming bias from Judge Ronald Zweibel. In a shocking verdict that stunned outside observers, she was found guilty despite insufficient evidence and Zweibel sentenced McMillan to 90 days in jail at Rikers Island. She was sent directly to jail on May 5 2014, despite having missed no court appointments over two years of hearings and her public insistence on refusing to plea out. During the long period between her initial arrest and the jury trial, Cecily was arrested again by the NYPD on December 7th of 2013 for observing and attempting to video-document the arrests of two young people in the Union Square subway station. McMillan and her supporters denounce the trumped up charges that were intended to undermine her credibility, for which she faces up to a year back on Rikers.

TUNE IN TO MOVE TO AMEND REPORTS EVERY THURSDAY NIGHT AT 5pm PACIFIC / 8pm EASTERN. Click here to listen to this week's show.

Get reminders about shows so you never forget to tune in - go here and click the "Follow" link in the middle of the page.

Move to Amend Reports is hosted by Laura Bonham and Egberto Willies, members of Move to Amend's National Leadership Team. Lead producer is Keyan Bliss. Production team is Shara Smith, Kaitlin Sopoci-Belknap, Keyan Bliss, Laura Bonham and Egberto Willies.