We the People Dispatch: Voter Guide and November Meetings

October 26, 2018

We the People Dispatch

Contents of this Newsletter:

  • Voters Guide:  We the People Amendment

  • Increase Minnesota Petition Signers

  • Local Affiliate Meetings

    • Rochester (SE MN) Area

    • Minneapolis Area

    • Lakes Area (North Central)

    • St. Paul Area

#   #   # 

Voters Guide:  We the People Amendment

ACTION:  Vote for candidates in support of this amendment.

Early voting has started and the Minnesota Move to Amend State Network is pleased to announce the full list of candidates who have demonstrated support by cosponsoring the We the People bill in the past and/or completing the Pledge to Amend questionnaire with “YES” responses.

1.      Do you support amending the U.S. Constitution to make clear that corporations and other artificial entities do not have Constitutional rights and that money is not speech and campaign spending should be limited through regulation?
2.      Will you use your office to support the Movement to Amend the Constitution by passing resolutions, proposing legislation, and publicly speaking out about the need for this Amendment?
* Completed the questionnaire
** Cosponsored a Minnesota We the People bill or the bill in Congress
*** Completed both the questionnaire and cosponsored a We the People bill.

Minnesota State Governor - Tim Walz**
Minnesota State Governor - Chris Wright*
Minnesota Attorney General - Keith Ellison***
Minnesota Attorney General - Noah M. Johnson*

Minnesota US Senate – Paula Overby*

Minnesota US House of Representatives, CD2 – Angie Craig*
Minnesota US House of Representatives, CD3 – Dean Phillips*
Minnesota US House of Representatives, CD4 - Betty McCollum**
Minnesota US House of Representatives, CD8 – Joe Radinovich*
Minnesota US House of Representatives, CD8 – Ray “Skip” Sandman*

Minnesota State Senate, District 13 – Joe Perske*

Minnesota State House of Representatives -
02A  Michael Northbird*
03A  Rob Ecklund**
05A  John Persell***
05B  Pat Medure*
07A  Jennifer Schultz***
07B  Liz Olson***
08B  Gail Kulp*
09A  Alex Hering*
10A  Dale Menk*
11A  Mike Sundin**
11B  Tim Burkhardt*
13B  Heidi Everett*
14A  Aric Putnam*
15A  Emy Minzel*
15B  Karla Scapanski*
15B Myron Arthur Wilson*
18A  Justin Vold*
19B  Jack Considine*
21A  Lori Ann Clark*
25B  Duane Sauke**
26A  Tina Liebling***
28B  Thomas Trehus*
29B  Sharon McGinty*
34A  Dan Solon*
35A Bill Vikander*
35B  Kathryn Eckhardt*
38A  Kevin Fogarty*
39A  Ann Mozey*
40A  Mike Nelson**
41A  Connie Bernardy**
41B  Mary Kunesh-Podein*
42A  Kelly Moller*
42B  Jamie Becker-Finn*
43A  Peter Fischer**
43B Leon Lillie**
44A  Ginny Klevorn*
45A  Lyndon Carlson*
45B Mike Freiberg**
46A Ryan Winkler**
47A  Madalynn Gerold*
49B  Steve Elkins*
50B  Andrew Carlson***
51B  Laurie Halvorson**
52A  Rick Hansen**
56B  Alice Mann*
57B  John Huot*
58B  Marla Vagts*
59B  Raymond Dehn***
61A  Frank Hornstein***
61B  Jamie Long*
63A  Jim Davnie**
63B  Jean Wagenius*
64B  Dave Pinto***
65A  Rena Moran*
65B  Carlos Mariani**
66A  Alice Hausman*
66B  John Lesch*

Responded with a NO to both questions
18A Jill Galvan*
62A  Bruce Lundeen*

23A Jeremy Munson*

If candidates on your ballot are not listed above, please ask them to complete the questionnaire at https://movetoamend.org/take-pledge-amend. Their contact information can be found on the spreadsheet on this page.

As additional questionnaires are completed we will update the list at https://movetoamend.org/voter-guide-candidate-responses-pledge-amend

#   #   #

Minnesota Petition Signers
Help Us Reach 15,000 by the end of December

ACTION:  Please print this form and get 4 people to sign the petition. 

This link will provide you with what to say and what to do with completed forms.

Over 12,770 people in MInnesota have signed the petition supporting the US Constitutional amendment proposed by Move to Amend:

Why is this number important? 
Each year we report the number to elected representatives and senators to demonstrate that support is growing for the We the People bill
Sometimes we call petition signers to ask them to contact their representative or senator directly.
Think of a snowball rolling down a hill.  As more people are behind this movement the more momentum it will gain.

#   #   #

Local Affiliate Meetings

ACTION:  Attend  a Monthly Meeting

MINNEAPOLIS AREA:  Help make democracy an issue.
DATE:  Thursday, November 8, 2018 (2nd Thursday each month)
TIME:  7:00-8:30 pm
PLACE:  Grace-Trinity Community Church (in Library)
ADDRESS: 1430 West 28th Street, Minneapolis , MN 55408
The church is located one-half block west of the corner of Hennepin Avenue South and West 28th Street. FREE parking is across the street from the church on the west side of the parking lot. 
Contact: Debbie at minneapolis [at] movetoamend.org or call 952-913-2984

LAKES AREA:  Help promote the “We the People” amendment.
DATE: Tuesday, November 13, 2018 (unconfirmed)
TIME: 5:00 - 6:00 pm social time; 7:00 pm meeting
PLACE: Sage on Laurel (unconfirmed)
ADDRESS: 606 Laurel St, Brainerd, MN 56401
Contact: Roger at brainerd [at] movetoamend.org

ROCHESTER AREA (SE MN):    The Election is Over.  Now What?
House (Senate) Districts:  21A, 21B (21), 24A, 24B (24), 25A, 25B (25), 26A, 26B (26), 27A, 27B (27), 28A, 28B (28)

DATE:  Saturday, November 17, 2018
TIME:  1:00-3:00 pm
PLACE:  Rochester Public Library
ADDRESS:  101 2nd St SE, Rochester, MN  55904

Come to learn about the We the People bills and what can be done to get them passed.
For background information go to:  movetoamend.org/minnesota   Read through the announcements.

SAINT PAUL AREA:  Put your interests and talents to work for democracy.
DATE:  Monday, November 26, 2018 (4th Monday each month)
TIME:  7:00-8:30 pm
PLACE:  Ramsey County Library - Shoreview (NOTE: New Location)
ADDRESS:   4560 North Victoria Street, Shoreview, MN  55126
Contact: Jeff at saintpaul [at] movetoamend.org