Emergent Fascism In The U.S. - Historical And Current Implications For Social Justice Organizing

February 20, 2017

Join leaders from Move to Amend for a conference call to explore the parallels and differences between the fascist program of the Trump administration and the 1930s and 1940s when fascist rose to power in Europe, as well as American fascism that has been strongest in the U.S. South, since the Civil War. We seek to better understand what lessons we can learn from history, and what strategic adjustments are needed in our fight for democracy and justice to address the current situation.

Call Recording

Emergent Fascism In The U.S. - Historical And Current Implications For Social Justice Organizing

Monday, February 20, 2017
4:30pm Alaska / 5:30pm Pacific / 6:30pm Mountain / 7:30pm Central / 8:30pm Eastern

The fundamental characteristic of fascism is corporate economic power merged with the political power of the State.

Fascism in Germany and Italy during the 1930s was politically imposed as a reactionary alternative to democracy. Fascism today has arisen and matured as a result of the new, qualitative change in the economy that is undermining our current capitalist social order. It is not a choice of the ruling class, as it was during the period of capitalist industrialization in the 1930s.

New labor-replacing means of production – the computer and the robot – are changing the economic foundation of capitalism, which has historically been the buying and selling of labor power. This fundamental economic relationship was the basis of producing value for capitalist market exchange and distribution. With its destruction comes an upheaval of the market, exchange and distribution.

The 21st century global fascism of the corporate State is in response to the destruction of the current capitalist economic system wrought by the economic revolution in production technology. A fascist program is being implemented by a global capitalist class to protect private property. In countries around the world, fascist economic and political policies have been maturing by varying degrees over the past two decades, and an effort to further privatize the commons is underway. This, along with a concerted effort to continue to concentrate wealth in the hands of the few, or to address climate-related disasters and chaos due to global warming, is critical for understanding how to effectively resist and win the struggle for democracy rooted in social and economic justice.

Discussion Materials

These readings will provide the basis for our conversation, please read them in advance:

Discussion Questions

1. What is the relationship between fascism and capitalism? 

2. What are the differences between the fascism of the 1930s and 1940s and the fascism of the 21st century?

3. What are the historic roots of fascism in American society?

4. What will it take to defeat fascism today?

Call Recording

Topic: