As a national coalition, Move to Amend has several spokespeople who are available for interviews and background information. To schedule an interview please contact press [at] movetoamend.org or call (916) 318-8040 and speak with our Communications Coordinator, Keyan Bliss.

Kaitlin Sopoci-Belknap

Kaitlin Sopoci-Belknap is National Director of Move to Amend. She is one of the founding members of the Board of Directors and authors of the We the People Amendment.

Kaitlin grew up in Santa Fe, NM and came to Humboldt County in 2001 by way of Western Massachusetts where she was studying education and community at Hampshire College.

She served as a member of the national Leadership Team of the Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom’s campaign to Challenge Corporate Power, Assert the People’s Rights and the STORY (Strategy Training and Organizing Resources for Youth) Board of the SmartMeme Project. She is also a Principal with Program on Corporations Law and Democracy and Local Democracy Fellow for the Liberty Tree Foundation.

In November 2004 Kaitlin was elected to serve on the Humboldt Bay Municipal Water District Board. She is the youngest member to serve in this position, as well as the the first woman to take this office. She was re-elected in 2008 and now serves as Board President.

David Cobb

David Cobb is Outreach Director of Move to Amend. He is one of the founding members of the Board of Directors and authors of the We the People Amendment.

David is a lawyer and political activist. David has sued corporate polluters, lobbied elected officials,  run for political office himself, and has been arrested for non-violent civil disobedience.  He truly believes we must use ALL the tools in the toolbox to effect the systemic social change we so desperately need.

David was born in San Leon, Texas and worked as a laborer before going to college.  He graduated from the University of Houston Law School in 1993 and maintained a successful private law practice in Houston for several years before devoting himself to full time activism to achieve real democracy in the United States.  

In 2002 David ran for Attorney General of Texas, pledging to use the office to revoke the charters of corporations that repeatedly violate health, safety and environmental laws. He did not win the office, but the Green Party of Texas grew dramatically during his campaign from four local chapters to twenty-six. In 2004, he ran for President of the United States on the Green Party ticket and successfully campaigned for the Ohio recount.

George Friday

Leesa "George" Friday is one of the founding members of the Board of Directors. She holds degrees in Political Science, Economics, and African American Studies from the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill.

She began her career as Phone Canvass Director for National Peace Action in the latter half of the 1980s and Program Director of the Piedmont Peace Project in North Carolina in the first half of the 1990s. George works as consultant to nonprofit organizations seeking to build capacity and organizational strength while acknowledging and addressing issues of oppression and privilege in ways that build community.

She is the National Field Organizer for the Bill of Rights Defense Committee and Coordinator for the Independent Progressive Politics Network.  George co-chairs the Green Party US Black and Women’s caucuses and the North Carolina Green Party.  George has served on several boards and Steering Committees including the Institute for Southern Studies, FairVote, the Grassroots Policy Project, American Friends Service Committee, United for Peace and Justice, the US Social Forum National Planning Committee, and Move to Amend. 

George's Vision in 50 words or less:  We have realized a justice driven movement – created from the roots up, transforming self-defined and well-wishing “progressives” into skilled effective allies who act strategically, sustain strong relationships with those most affected by injustice, following their leadership and/or supporting emerging leaders.  The core principle; Strategic Use of Privilege.

Keyan Bliss

Keyan Bliss is a member of the National Leadership Team (Board of Directors) since November 2014. He is Move to Amend's Communications Coordinator and Executive Producer of Move to Amend's online radio program, Move to Amend Reports. He is a graduate of Indiana University.

Inspired to join Move to Amend by his brother’s participation within the Occupy movement and student power movement, Keyan first joined Move to Amend in 2013 as an Intern.

He sees the goal of ending corporate Constitutional rights and money as protected speech to be a crucial first step towards real change within US society. Once the “We the People” Amendment is adopted into the Constitution, he hopes to expand constitutional reform to include new bills of rights to expand the protection of civil liberties to all human beings without distinction.

Daniel Lee

Daniel Lee has been a member of the Move to Amend National Leadership Team since March of 2012.

An active member of Occupy Los Angeles and InterOccupy Daniel has participated in Occupy encampments across the country as well as done community organizing locally in Los Angeles.

He has also served locally on the Culver City Martin Luther King jr. Celebration Committee for the last 3 years and has been a volunteer with El Rincon Elementary, also in Culver City, for the last 7 years.

Daniel is a veteran of the United States Air Force and Air National Guard, a former student at the University of Southern California, and California State University Los Angeles and current MSW candidate at UCLA.

Jerome Scott

Jerome Scott, a labor organizer in the auto plants of Detroit in the1960s-70s, and a community organizer, popular educator and author in the South since the 1970s, was a founding member and former director of Project South: Institute for the Elimination of Poverty & Genocide in Atlanta, GA.

He serves on the National Planning Committee of the U.S. Social Forum, is active in Grassroots Global Justice and other social justice movement organizations, including the League of Revolutionaries for a New America.

He is author/co-author of numerous chapters and articles on race, class, movement building and the revolutionary process, and is a contributing editor to four popular education toolkits including The Roots of Terror and Today's Globalization. He was co-recipient of the American Sociological Association’s 2004 Award for the Public Understanding of Sociology.